Why do brussel sprouts smell bad?

Brussel sprouts come from the same plant family as cabbages, and contain the chemicals called isothiocyanates, which is released during cooking. Isothiocyanates are the source of the smell. Try them raw and sliced thin atop a salad, they have very little odor when raw.