Why do they call chicken pox chicken pox?

The name Chickenpox has been around for centuries. One theory is that the rash of chickenpox looks like a peck mark caused by a chicken.

---

2 explanations are given in medical texts for the name Chicken Pox. 1, because the rash’s lesions can resemble chickpeas. The other is that the Old English word giccan: meaning, to itch: either got corrupted into chicken: or mixed up with cicen: meaning, young fowl.