How far from shore to international waters start?

Oceans, seas, and waters outside national jurisdiction are also referred to as the high seas. Exclusive Economic Zones extend 200 nautical miles from the baseline, where coastal States have sovereign rights to the water column and sea floor as well as the natural resources found there.