What is turmeric made of?

Turmeric, sometimes called Indian saffron, is a tall plant that grows in Asia and Central America. Turmeric is made of the ground roots of the plant. Curcumin is the active ingredient in turmeric, and it has powerful biological properties. Turmeric is also a major ingredient in curry powder.

---

Turmeric is a flowering plant, Curcuma longa of the ginger family, Zingiberaceae, the roots of which are used in cooking.