How do you know if a watermelon is bad?

Check the skin for any slimey spots, patches of mold. If it looks okay but has a sour/fowl, it's no good. Pre cut melon can look good but its the sealed container that prevents it from getting slimy or growing mold. If you take a bite and the fruit is sour or fizzy, spit it out and chuck the rest.