Do squirrels carry the bubonic plague?

Squirrels can carry the bubonic plague (Yersinia pestis) if bitten by infected fleas. According to The Mayo Clinic, The plague is transmitted to humans who are bitten by fleas that have fed on infected rodents or by humans handling infected animals.