What is newton's second law of thermodynamics?

The 2nd law of thermodynamics states that heat cannot flow from a cooler to a warmer body, and that natural processes tend to lead towards spatial homogeneity of matter and energy. This if often shortened to: "the entropy of a closed system will tend to be maximized".