How do you get a dog to go to sleep?

Don't play with your dog just before bedtime. Dogs sleep 12 to 14 hours per day and generally align their sleep time with the humans in their lives. Dogs love routine so the best way to get a dog to sleep is to put it on a regular schedule. If your sleep pattern is irregular, your dog's will be too.