What does d. n. a. ligase do?

DNA ligases play an essential role in maintaining genomic integrity by joining breaks in the phosphodiester backbone of DNA that occur during replication and recombination, and as a consequence of DNA damage and its repair. Three human genes, LIG1, LIG3 and LIG4 encode ATP-dependent DNA ligases.