Where did the term bandwagoner originate?

During the 1848 presidential campaign, famous circus clown Dan Rice invited Zachary Taylor to ride on his bandwagon, a vehicle which carried the band in circus parades. As Taylor's campaign became successful, people were urged to "jump on the bandwagon" to be a part of this success.