What are carpet bugs?

The carpet beetle is a 3 mm-long beetle belonging to the family Dermestidae. They are a common species, often considered a pest of domestic houses and, particularly, history museums, where the larvae may damage natural fibers and can damage carpets, furniture, clothing, and insect collections