Does the a. t. f. still exist?

Yes, the ATF is the United States Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms & Explosives. It's a federal law enforcement organization within the U. S. Department of Justice. Many of it's activities are carried out in conjunction with task forces of state & local law enforcement officers. Per Wikipedia.