What is a neutral zone infraction in football?

A neutral zone infraction occurs when a member of the defensive team enters the neutral zone, crossing an imaginary zone of about 6 inches between the defensive and the offensive side of the football. This can mean that the defender is either parallel with or behind the offensive line.