What's the difference between hail and snow?

Hail is formed when a droplet of water freezes in a storm, and grows larger as more water freezes onto that frozen droplet as it is repeatedly wafted up in the cloud via updrafts until growing too heavy and finally falls. Snow is formed by water vapor that goes straight from vapor to ice and falls.