What is a. z. i. g. g. u. r. a. t.?

I don't know if there is such a word with the letters separated by period, but a ziggurat is a stepped tower, or, one example of the many types of pyramids in the world. A ziggurat is the tower people were building to the heavens, and became The Tower of Babel.