Who invented smoothies?

Steve Kuhnau branded the word smoothie after hearing it being used in reference to fruit and juice based drinks in the 1960’s. He was experimenting on his health when he discovered it worked for him. It enabled him open a health food store named Smoothie King, which later became a chain.