Who is rocky and bullwinkle named after?

Bullwinkle's name came from a Ford car dealership in the Bay area. The dealer was named Clarence Bullwinkel. Rocky was short for Rocket J. Squirrel, because he could fly like a rocket. Both Bullwinkle and Rocky had the middle initial "J" , a reference to Jay Ward, the producer of the show.