What was the first chainsaw used for?

In the late 18th century, 2 doctors, John Aitken & James Jeffray, developed a prototype of the chainsaw familiar today in the timber industry for symphysiotomy & the excision of diseased bone. The design of the chainsaw was based on a watch chain with teeth that moved through the use of a hand-crank