What does cake on the ocean mean?

If you mean cake BY the ocean, according to dictionary dot com, DNCE's Joe Jonas said the term came about when the Swedish producers kept confusing (being intimate on the ocean) with cake by the ocean. Cake by the ocean is a song that is actually about wanting to (be intimate) on the beach.