What is the meaning of sequel?

a : subsequent development b : the next installment (as of a speech or story) especially : a literary, cinematic, or televised work continuing the course of a story begun in a preceding one

---

A sequel is the continuation of a story. Examples: Ghostbusters 2, Harry Potter and the chamber of secrets, Deadpool 2, Top Gun Maverick etc.