Did george washington smoke pot?

George Washington grew hemp for industrial purposes throughout his lifetime. The hemp fibers were primarily used for rope, sail canvas, and clothing. The hemp oil was used for flax, paints, varnishes, and soaps. It was not the variety of hemp that is used for smoking.