What is d-day stand for?

Military planners use terms like D-Day and H-Hour as placeholders when an actual day or time has not yet been set for an action. So if an attack is to occur at "D-Day", the plan can say "forces will be in place at D minus 2". The most famous "D-Day" was the Allied invasion of Normandy in WWII