How do you use a pendulum?

A pendulum is a weight suspended from a pivot so that it can swing freely. The weight and free movement make it an ideal force to provide movement for a clock. Interestingly, in 1851 Paris, Léon Foucault built a pendulum to prove the Earth rotated on its axis, and therefore orbited the sun.