Did the earth start spinning faster?

From NPR...The Earth is spinning faster than ever and it's making our days shorter The shortest day ever recorded was June 29, and it was shorter than a typical 24 hours by 1.59 milliseconds. Some scientists say its climate change, others say maybe it's because of earthquakes.