What happens if you drink bad wine?

A wine that's “gone bad” won't hurt you if you taste it, but it's probably not a good idea to drink it. A wine that has gone bad from being left open will have a sharp sour flavor similar to vinegar. It would be unpleasant to drink, but not dangerous.