What's the difference between a particle and a molecule?

A molecule is a small but complete part of a substance. A molecule of water contains two atoms of Hydrogen and one atom of Oxygen. A particle is part of an atom or smaller. If the molecule was a beachball that was six hundred feet high a particle would still be smaller than a pin point.