Why don't they refrigerate eggs in europe?

In the U.S., eggs are washed to remove the outer cover, called the cuticle. In Europe, it's illegal to wash eggs, and instead, farms vaccinate chickens against salmonella. With the cuticle intact, refrigeration could cause mildew growth and contamination.