Do bigger dogs live longer than smaller dogs?

Small dogs (under 20 pounds) tend to live around three years longer than big dogs (over 90 pounds), one recent study found. Another study released in 2013 noted that where smaller dogs live to be about 10 to 14 years old, bigger dogs live just 5 to 8 years.