How do you break a tooth?

Common cause of these breaks can include Eating something hard Facial trauma following an accident Damage from sports Untreated cavities can cause a tooth to become brittle & break Old,large amalgam fillings,where the remaining structure of the natural tooth can become brittle over a period of time