Why does it get cold in winter?

In the Northern Hemisphere* (*NH), the tilt of the earth is away from the sun. That tilt causes the NH to receive less heat and the hours of the daylight are shorter. The funny thing is, the Sun is actually closer to the earth during the NH winter time.