What happened in the year five thirty six?

A volcanic eruption's ash led to a fog that brought an 18-month-long stretch of daytime darkness across Europe, the Middle East, and portions of Asia. Temperatures in the summer of 536 fell 1.5°C to 2.5°C, initiating the coldest decade in the past 2300 years. Crops failed; people starved.