What is i. b. i. s.?

IBIS, or the Integrated Ballistic Identification System, is a computerized system of bullet ballistic markings. It is run by the ATF department of the DOJ and used to register the markings of bullets found at crime scenes, and find correlations between gun usage at different scenes, nation-wide.