Where was chop suey invented?

Chop suey is widely believed to have been invented in the U.S. by Chinese Americans, but anthropologist E. N. Anderson, a scholar of Chinese food, traces the dish to tsap seui, common in Taishan (Toisan). Hong Kong doctor Li Shu-fan likewise reported that he knew it in Toisan in the 1890s