What's the history of christmas stockings?

According to legend, St. Nicholas took pity on an impoverished merchant who couldn't provide dowries for his daughters' weddings. He threw three bags filled with gold coins down the merchant's chimney. The bags fell into his daughters' stockings, which were hung by the fireplace mantle to dry.