What's the etymology of fortnite?

A fortnight is a unit of time equal to 14 days (2 weeks). The word derives from the Old English term fēowertyne niht, meaning "fourteen nights". Some wages and salaries are paid on a fortnightly basis; however, in North America it is far more common to use the term biweekly.