What is the beatles song blackbird about?

Paul McCartney has given various statements regarding both his inspiration for the song and its meaning. Both that it was inspired by hearing the blackbird one morning in Rishikesh, India, and writing it in Scotland as a response to racial tensions escalating in the United States in 1968.