What does undyne mean?

"Undyne" in Undertale derives from "Undine," a womanly water nymph from Greek lore. It is also a play on "undying," as Undyne does not die when reduced to zero health. When attempting to name the fallen human "Undyne," the response becomes "Get your OWN name!" and prevents the name from being used.