Is a coral snake venomous?

Yes, highly venomous. Coral snakes are a large group of elapid snakes that can be subdivided into two distinct groups, Old World coral snakes and New World coral snakes. There are 16 species of Old World coral snake in three genera, and over 65 species of New World coral snakes in three genera.