What's in red velvet?

Red velvet cakes are chocolate flavoured. While both red velvet and chocolate cakes contain cocoa, chocolate cake is lacking buttermilk and vinegar combination that is important to red velvet. The two cakes have a similar cocoa taste, but red velvet is much more fine and rich than chocolate.