Why do you get bags of your eyes?

According to Mayo Clinic, bags under the eyes are caused when the tissue structures and muscles supporting the eyelids weaken. Factors that worsen this include aging, fluid retention, lack of sleep, smoking, allergies, genetics and some medical conditions.