What are the rules for hockey overtime?

In the 2021 NHL if the game is tied after 60 minutes of regulation play, an overtime period with an additional 5 minutes is added. If a player scores during this time, the game is automatically over and his team will be deemed the winner. Games not decided in the overtime period go to a shootout.