What do painted ladies eat?

They prefer to feed from tall (3-6 feet high) plants, including blazing star, cosmos, New England aster, Joe-pye weed, Mexican sunflower, purple coneflower, and zinnias.

---

Painted lady butterflies prefer to feed on flowers of a particular color: purple flowers 45%; rather than red 24%, yellow 22% or white flowers 9%.