How strong are apes?

Adult gorillas are four to nine times stronger than the average man. According to the Guiness Book of Records, a silverback gorilla can lift up to 815 kilograms (1800 pounds) of dead weight. Even chimpanzees have been shown to be about four times as strong as humans comparable in size.