Why did they take pluto away?

In 2005, Eris, a dwarf planet in the scattered disc which is 27% more massive than Pluto, was discovered. This led the International Astronomical Union to define the term "planet" in 2006, during their 26th General Assembly. That definition excluded Pluto and reclassified it as a dwarf planet.