Was mork and mindy a spin-off of happy days?

Yes. The character of Mork was played by Robin Williams and appears in the Happy Days season five episode "My Favorite Orkan" in 1978. The show wanted to feature a spaceman in order to capitalize on the popularity of the Star Wars film.