What's the difference between chloride and chlorine?

Since Chlorine is found deep within the Earth's crust, and is extremely reactive, the only way it can be found in nature is when it reacts with other chemicals and creates compounds. Chloride is what is created when Chlorine gains an electron and combines with other elements.