What is the lowest gold has ever been?

During the California Gold Rush , the lowest official price for gold was $4 per ounce. At the same time, assayed gold sold for $16 per ounce for bullion. The U.S. Double Eagle, a manufactured product, which contained one ounce of gold, had a face value of $20.

---

Twelve