What is the difference between sanitizer and disinfectant?

The main difference between sanitizers and disinfectants is that sanitizers reduce the number of germs on a surface whereas disinfectants kill most of them. Sanitizers usually work faster than disinfectants, which can take up to 10 minutes to kill germs.