Is a wiener dog a hound?

A dachshund, sometimes referred to as a badger dog, weiner dog, sausage dog, is a long-bodied, short-legged hound-type breed. The American Kennel Club's Hound Group or Scent Hound Grup includes dachshunds, but the World Canine Federation puts the dachshund in its own group.