What's the difference between a hypothesis and a theory?

The hypothesis is an unproven statement; that can be tested. On the other hand, the theory is a scientifically tested and proven explanation of fact or event. Hypothesis relies on suggestions, prediction, possibility or projects whereas a theory is supported by evidence and is verified.